Is there anything wrong with a McDojo?

I hear the term all the time, a label given to a martial art school. According to an unsourced Wikipedia article, it is: "...a pejorative term used by some Western martial artists to describe a martial arts school where image or profit is of a higher importance than technical standards, and in the related use of martial arts franchising."

Yet, a simple perusal of the internet yields blog upon blog of folks further defining what is a McDojo. Typically, they relate to belt factories, contracts, payment structures, and even style.

Martial arts chains are often targets, like Tiger Schulman's and Eagle Martial Arts. Also, organizations (and schools that are part of the organization) are targets, notably American Taekwondo Association and World Taekwondo Federation. Also, schools that teach children are also targets. And schools that charge fees. And schools located in strip malls.

It seems like every school is a target. Indeed, that's becoming more and more common. But just because a school possesses one out of many poor or questionable qualities, it doesn't mean that it is a McDojo.

I prefer a more practical definition of McDojo. The prefix "Mc" suggests a connotation with McDonald's Restaurants. What is relevant is that McDonalds is a chain (it franchises), its goal is to hand out food as fast as possible, with special drivethrough lanes for even speedier service, to accomodate children (see Happy Meals), at a very cheap price ($1 burgers) although one notes that even in the midst of a huge sale, one still pays the same prices regardless (upsell one product, but make more expensive the other products - like sodas and fries).

Wow. We can probably relate to a few martial arts schools who possess qualities of a McDonald's Restaurant, yes? Like the drive through, the schools have clubs for those wanting their black belts. Like the restaurant franchise, some are chains. Like the restaurant's attention to children, the schools have Little Tigers, Little Ninjas, pee-wees, Tiny Dragons, etc. Like the cheap burger-but-pay-through-the-nose-soda-and-fries, schools have cheap monthly or introductory rates, but the equipment, tests, seminars, weapons, and tournaments are very expensive - or at least, they add up.

I think Wikipedia sums it up too much, and the definition seems too sanitized and abbreviated. Had the term "Westernized Dojo" been used instead of "McDojo", I think Wikipedia's definition may fit the bill. But that isn't a catchy name, and so I think "McDojo" (and related terms like "McDojoism") has sprung into everyday usage.

The problem is now everyone who has something negative to say about a school, labels every such school a McDojo. If the school is in a strip mall (aren't many McDonald's?), then it's a McDojo. If the instructor is just a kid with a black belt (haven't you met some newly promoted cocky Fries Manager kid on some power trip?) then it must be a McDojo. If it has birthday parties and kid programs (haven't you seen a climbing pen at most McDonald's?) then it must be a McDojo. If the school is handing out black belts based on tenure, rather than merit (haven't you ever heard the blase phrase, "Who's next...") then it must be a McDojo.

And all of this, as if McDonalds is the epitome of evil? What did McDonald's ever do to you? You WANT McDonalds. You NEED McDonalds. Ever been on a long drive with kids in the back? Fastest thing to shut them up is a quickie trip to McDonald's. Been late to work, and need a coffee? There's a drive-thru with 1 miles of your current location, guaranteed. Need to break a $20? Go buy yourself a $1 burger, get $19 in change.

Alright, let's leave McDonald's alone. And let's leave some of the evil martial arts schools alone, while we're at it. Or not. Should we be weary of McDojos?

Let's see what people are grousing about, and is it enough to make the school a McDojo. And even if it is, is it something to be avoided?

Note that many of the complaints are directed at an organization called "American Taekwondo Assocation", or ATA. The ATA is an organization who started their own flavor of Taekwondo. What they do is market their style, and schools buy a franchise from them. If a school likes their ideals, they buy the marketing stuff, and then uses it to recruit new students.




Tuesday, July 20, 2010

The school is a McDojo if there are black belts who have not entered or just begun puberty

Yes, I've heard this one before - who hasn't? This applies to a school who gives black belts to children. The McDojo factor pertains to the idea that the instructor has "sold out" his or her art and for good of the money, entices children to join the school with the promise of a black belt. ATA does this, but so does practically every dojo and dojang in the US. And it seems to be happening all over the world.


There is the counter argument that children - that is, people who are under 15 - should be able to earn them. And for some in this camp, their idea of awarding black belts range from giving out "sort-of" black belts, like "junior" black belts and the like; to full-blown dan grade black belts.

Unless the school who is awarding them follows strict Kukkiwon regulations (that is WTF Taekwondo schools), there isn't any governing body to stop the school from doing this. Even in WTF schools that follow regulations will sometimes give them a black belt, or rather, a black colored belt with a piece of paper describing the actual rank (which happens to not be black belt).

Give out a black belt to a child? I don't like the idea. But I feel for the instructors, who otherwise wouldn't have a school. Some enticement needs to be made to get the kids in the dojang and to stay. I've written other articles on this very subject. But suffice to say, I prefer the "give them the belt, make them wait for rank" mantra.

It kills me to sit along side a kid with the same color belt as me only to have lay people look at it and wonder if my test was watered down or the kid is some sort of prodigy. Then again, I wonder about the 9th degree who sits along side me, and if he's thinking the same thing.

In the end, this is classic McDojo. If you are uncomfortable with kids getting black belts, find another school. Or take solace in knowing that these kids will unlikely be able to use their skills when called upon.

No comments:

Post a Comment